Gratitude: Endless gratitude.

Patsy Starke
Jul 21, 2024
Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash
Photo by Gábor Juhász on Unsplash

Had two friends who helped me
a husband and his wife
they helped and helped
made life better
made me stronger

Didn’t stop when I should have
not their fault, but mine
I want to give it back
Hurts my heart to feel
and, I wish it were different

shoes on the other feet
walking for miles
a lightened load
blisters manifest
wounds bandaged with love

sores still bleed
no excuse but a promise
to honor their sacrifice
rooted in generosity
that blooms into more giving.

Love is never wasted…

Patsy Starke 7/21/24
For my angels who know who they are.

--

--

Patsy Starke

Registered Nurse, Transgender Woman In a lifelong transition, realizing my place here. Trying to make sense of my life, while trying to make a difference.